“I argued with my wife!”

I’m walking around Majorstua looking for people to interview when I come across an elderly gentleman walking through the farmers market on Bogstadveien. He must be at least 80 years old, around 1,60cm tall, wearing large round glasses and a flat cap. When I stop him he smiles and asks what he can help me with. I tell him about the project.
“You want to interview me? An old wrinkled man like me? Why don’t you interview that little girl there or that beautiful woman?” he asks as he points to the people walking past.
“I’d like to interview you about your life, I’m sure you have lots of life-experience which people can learn from,” I say encouragingly.
“What would you like to know? That I just stormed out of the house after arguing with my wife? You really want to know about that?” he replies agitated, but without being rude.
“What happened?” I ask concerned. He didn’t look happy, but at the same time he seemed to be wanting to talk.
“We have been living in the same apartment for the past 50 years and we have so many things that it’s difficult to walk around without stepping or bumping into something. I’ve tried to throw stuff out, but my wife gets upset when I do. We can’t live like this!”
“Why do you have so many things?” I ask. I can identify with his situation. Hoarding things when you need organization to function and quiten the mind can be pretty stressful.
“I used to own a business and I have collected a lot of papers and equipment over the years. My wife and I have lived in the same apartment for decades and we have things which our children used to use, or things which we bought which aren’t of any use to us anymore. We are growing older and we need to empty the apartment now while we still can. We don’t need much at our age and to have a five room apartment full of unnecessary objects is stressful!” he replies.
I feel so sorry for him that I want ti offer to to help him tidy out his apartment. One of my friends who loves organizing things is standing at one of the stalls andI am wondering wether he would join me to save this gentleman from the chaos collected over a lifetime.
“You can tell my story, but you can’t take a picture of my horrible wrinkled face,” he replies as he looks at his hands. He looks so unhappy and so tired. His eyebrows and knotted tightly together revealing how stressed he is.
“You have a lovely face!” I say.
He smiles, nods and thanks me for the compliment. ” I just wish my wife would listen to me!” he replies.

Leave a Reply

